Rostock Max v3 calibrating script.

The new for 2016 RostockMAX v3!
geneb
ULTIMATE 3D JEDI
Posts: 5362
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:47 pm
Location: Graham, WA
Contact:

Rostock Max v3 calibrating script.

Post by geneb »

Copy & paste this to your favorite plain text editor:

; Rostock Max v2/v3 Delta Auotcalibration Script
G69 S2 ;Endstop Calibration
M117 ENDSTOPS CALIBRATED
G68 ;Horizontal Radius Calibration
M117 HORIZONTAL RADIUS CALIBRATED
G30 S2 ;Z height calibration
M117 Z Height Calibrated
M500 ;Save values to EEPROM
G4 S2
M117 SAVING CALIBRATION

Save it as "v3Probing.gcode". I would recommend that you create a directory called "cal" on your SD card and copy the file into it. That way you can run the calibration process straight from the SD card if you want to.

Do NOT run the gcode as a "macro" in MatterControl! It's my understanding that there's something borked with how MC does macros and the code won't work.

g.
Delta Power!
Defeat the Cartesian Agenda!
http://www.f15sim.com - 80-0007, The only one of its kind.
http://geneb.simpits.org - Technical and Simulator Projects
cloneit3d
Printmaster!
Posts: 59
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2016 12:39 pm

Re: Rostock Max v3 calibrating script.

Post by cloneit3d »

Nice work! Thank you!
Self designed plasma cutting table running Mach3
Orbot Hadron running and E3d 6, Smoothie on an Azteeg Mini, LCD, fully adjustable glass bed of my design with a silicone mat heater.
Prtrbot Simple Metal
Table top CNC running Mach 3
geneb
ULTIMATE 3D JEDI
Posts: 5362
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:47 pm
Location: Graham, WA
Contact:

Re: Rostock Max v3 calibrating script.

Post by geneb »

You're welcome! However, all I did was post a file that's on the SeeMeCNC v3 github repo. :)

g.
Delta Power!
Defeat the Cartesian Agenda!
http://www.f15sim.com - 80-0007, The only one of its kind.
http://geneb.simpits.org - Technical and Simulator Projects
guanu
SeeMeCNC Staff
Posts: 397
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 1:54 pm

Re: Rostock Max v3 calibrating script.

Post by guanu »

That gcode must end in a M500 or the values will not save to the eeprom. The correct code should be as follows:

G69 S2 ;Endstop Calibration
M117 ENDSTOPS CALIBRATED
G68 ;Horizontal Radius Calibration
M117 HORIZONTAL RADIUS CALIBRATED
G30 S2 ;Z height calibration
M117 Z Height Calibrated
M500 ;Save values to EEPROM
G4 S2
M117 SAVING CALIBRATION
geneb
ULTIMATE 3D JEDI
Posts: 5362
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:47 pm
Location: Graham, WA
Contact:

Re: Rostock Max v3 calibrating script.

Post by geneb »

Guanu, you should update the git repo then. I copied that straight out of there.

g.
Delta Power!
Defeat the Cartesian Agenda!
http://www.f15sim.com - 80-0007, The only one of its kind.
http://geneb.simpits.org - Technical and Simulator Projects
kraegar
Printmaster!
Posts: 158
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2015 1:27 pm

Re: Rostock Max v3 calibrating script.

Post by kraegar »

G30 S2 writes to EEPROM:

if(com->hasS() && com->S == 2)
EEPROM::storeDataIntoEEPROM();
Noircogi
Printmaster!
Posts: 99
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2016 3:32 pm

Re: Rostock Max v3 calibrating script.

Post by Noircogi »

I finally got to try this out. It works great. My first layer is much better now.
guanu
SeeMeCNC Staff
Posts: 397
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 1:54 pm

Re: Rostock Max v3 calibrating script.

Post by guanu »

kraegar wrote:G30 S2 writes to EEPROM:

if(com->hasS() && com->S == 2)
EEPROM::storeDataIntoEEPROM();
Yeah, I was the one who wrote the probing code for our firmware, and it does, but the values do not stick for the next print for some reason unless there is the M500 for some goofy reason. The values do store to the eeprom, but it does not use those values right away unless the script ends with the M500. Its funky, but it was the way we found the script to work. It was one of those strange "the values are there, and I can bring the eeprom up and they are there, but its as if they dont "fully save" unless you re-save" types of things.
kraegar
Printmaster!
Posts: 158
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2015 1:27 pm

Re: Rostock Max v3 calibrating script.

Post by kraegar »

Interesting note, thanks for the heads up on it!
User avatar
mhackney
ULTIMATE 3D JEDI
Posts: 5412
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 4:15 pm
Location: MA, USA
Contact:

Re: Rostock Max v3 calibrating script.

Post by mhackney »

@guano, is G68 (horizontal radius correction) not yet implemented? I search the code on the git but could not find it.

https://github.com/seemecnc/Firmware/se ... &type=Code

Sublime Layers - my blog on Musings and Experiments in 3D Printing Technology and Art

Start Here:
A Strategy for Successful (and Great) Prints

Strategies for Resolving Print Artifacts

The Eclectic Angler
PannDemic
Printmaster!
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2016 3:15 am

Re: Rostock Max v3 calibrating script.

Post by PannDemic »

Any reason the code freezes if the bed and HE are up to temp?
At temperature I have yet to have the code complete, it'll freeze then reset.

Anyone else see that?
guanu
SeeMeCNC Staff
Posts: 397
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 1:54 pm

Re: Rostock Max v3 calibrating script.

Post by guanu »

PannDemic wrote:Any reason the code freezes if the bed and HE are up to temp?
At temperature I have yet to have the code complete, it'll freeze then reset.

Anyone else see that?
the probing routine must be ran when the machine is at room temp as we have said... the accelerometer is sensitive to lots of things. I'm pretty sure the amount of EMF the bed gives off is one of the biggest things that cause the probe to be false hit when trying to probe with the temps on, and this can be seen if you have a EMF detector on a cell phone, or if you put a cylinder magnet on the bed and turn the bed heat on, the magnet will align with the bed. This is why we say run the calibration with the heats off, and the machine cool (we say with the machine cool because the Z probe height in the eeprom has a negative value on it to compensate for expansion of the hotend and bed.)
Qdeathstar
Printmaster!
Posts: 622
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2016 7:42 pm

Re: Rostock Max v3 calibrating script.

Post by Qdeathstar »

I'm wondering if you could sheild the board from emf and then use it hot.. Seems like your get signicantly more accurate results
Qdeathstar
Printmaster!
Posts: 622
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2016 7:42 pm

Re: Rostock Max v3 calibrating script.

Post by Qdeathstar »

Should we run the calibration script once before every print? Or just once in a while? Or how often?
User avatar
garfi3ld
Plasticator
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri May 13, 2016 1:42 pm

Re: Rostock Max v3 calibrating script.

Post by garfi3ld »

Just anytime anything changes
Qdeathstar
Printmaster!
Posts: 622
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2016 7:42 pm

Re: Rostock Max v3 calibrating script.

Post by Qdeathstar »

Well, i'm impressed. It took it a few times to get it to hit right, and since i'm using a .40mm nozzle i had to adjust my zheight lower, but a first print look seems to have calibrated just fine. Im going to print towards the edge next and see how that goes.
User avatar
mhackney
ULTIMATE 3D JEDI
Posts: 5412
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 4:15 pm
Location: MA, USA
Contact:

Re: Rostock Max v3 calibrating script.

Post by mhackney »

It's actually the I2C interface to the HE280 that is sensitive to noise. I've done some experiments. Probing with the bed powered has no effect on the accelerometer probe. Probing with the hotend powered will result in a lockup 80% of the time.

I bring everything up to temperature and then turn off the hotend, then probe. You could easily add this gcode to the probing script to turn it off automatically of you forget. The slight drop in temperature after turning it off is not an issue AND it is my experience that the bed is the main culprit - i.e. it is more susceptible to distortion as it heats up. I have not been able to measure any change / expansion of the hotend/nozzle as it heats up.

Sublime Layers - my blog on Musings and Experiments in 3D Printing Technology and Art

Start Here:
A Strategy for Successful (and Great) Prints

Strategies for Resolving Print Artifacts

The Eclectic Angler
User avatar
DeltaCon
Printmaster!
Posts: 616
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2015 5:01 am
Location: Wessem, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Rostock Max v3 calibrating script.

Post by DeltaCon »

I suppose this script could also work for V2's with fsr setup, because... what's the difference ;-)
Is this script only workable on the SeemeCNC adapted firmware? At the moment I am running repetier 0.92.9 downloaded through repetier's website.
I am DeltaCon, I have a delta, my name is Con, I am definitely PRO delta! ;-)
Rostock V2 / E3D Volcano / FSR kit / Duet 0.6

PS.: Sorry for the avatar, that's my other hobby!
User avatar
mhackney
ULTIMATE 3D JEDI
Posts: 5412
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 4:15 pm
Location: MA, USA
Contact:

Re: Rostock Max v3 calibrating script.

Post by mhackney »

I m not sure that the auto probing implementation in the special SeeMeCNC Repetier firmware branch is generic enough to support other probes. I'm going through the code now to learn what's going on and it appears to be "hardwired" for the way the accelerometer works.

This script should not be used for probing on Duet (which you can not do with the accelerometer at this time). I don't know what would happen on other firmware including the "stock" Repetier release.

Sublime Layers - my blog on Musings and Experiments in 3D Printing Technology and Art

Start Here:
A Strategy for Successful (and Great) Prints

Strategies for Resolving Print Artifacts

The Eclectic Angler
User avatar
DeltaCon
Printmaster!
Posts: 616
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2015 5:01 am
Location: Wessem, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Rostock Max v3 calibrating script.

Post by DeltaCon »

So... there is a big difference... Glad I asked ;-)
I am DeltaCon, I have a delta, my name is Con, I am definitely PRO delta! ;-)
Rostock V2 / E3D Volcano / FSR kit / Duet 0.6

PS.: Sorry for the avatar, that's my other hobby!
stough
Prints-a-lot
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2016 12:46 am

Re: Rostock Max v3 calibrating script.

Post by stough »

I have been getting repeatably bad calibrations using cold hotend and bed. When I calibrate the result is just right in the middle, low on the front edge and a little high in the back.

My solution has been to run the calibrating script with my endstop screws in a neutral position and then perform the V2 calibration procedure from there. When doing this, I need to adjust the endstops on x and y to raise the hotend and on z to lower it. Then I have to adjust the radius because the edges are lower than the center.

This seems to result in a good result, but I had high hopes for auto calibration. Is preheating and then shutting down just before calibration the key? I think that I tried that and, although slightly improved, the calibration was still off as described above.

Any wisdom would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Tim
User avatar
mhackney
ULTIMATE 3D JEDI
Posts: 5412
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 4:15 pm
Location: MA, USA
Contact:

Re: Rostock Max v3 calibrating script.

Post by mhackney »

A first layer photo would be helpful. It seems that a few of us are experiencing what appears to be a bed leveling issue. I've posted about it within the last hour or so. Working to understand and solve it.

Sublime Layers - my blog on Musings and Experiments in 3D Printing Technology and Art

Start Here:
A Strategy for Successful (and Great) Prints

Strategies for Resolving Print Artifacts

The Eclectic Angler
duvdev
Printmaster!
Posts: 167
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2014 5:23 am

Re: Rostock Max v3 calibrating script.

Post by duvdev »

Hi

finally got it going.

what is the difference between that script and the full calibration from UI menu?
geneb
ULTIMATE 3D JEDI
Posts: 5362
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:47 pm
Location: Graham, WA
Contact:

Re: Rostock Max v3 calibrating script.

Post by geneb »

John only recently (like this week) enabled the menu-driven calibration for the v3. If your firmware is older than Monday or Tuesday, the auto-level menu option kicks of Repetier's cartesian routine and will do nothing for you.

Use. The. Script. :D

g.
Delta Power!
Defeat the Cartesian Agenda!
http://www.f15sim.com - 80-0007, The only one of its kind.
http://geneb.simpits.org - Technical and Simulator Projects
User avatar
mhackney
ULTIMATE 3D JEDI
Posts: 5412
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 4:15 pm
Location: MA, USA
Contact:

Updated Rostock Max v3 calibrating script.

Post by mhackney »

Here's an updated script that I use. It now turns off the hot end so in case you forget, there is no problem! This also makes it easy if you want to calibrate hot. Simply preheat bed and hotend, then run the script. It will turn off the hotend for you. The bed stays hot. I've not experienced any problems with that.

Code: Select all

M104 S0 ;turn off hot end
G69 S2 ;Endstop Calibration
M117 ENDSTOPS CALIBRATED
G68 ;Horizontal Radius Calibration
M117 HORIZONTAL RADIUS CALIBRATED
G30 S2 ;Z height calibration
M117 Z Height Calibrated
M500 ;Save values to EEPROM
G4 S2
M117 SAVING CALIBRATION

Sublime Layers - my blog on Musings and Experiments in 3D Printing Technology and Art

Start Here:
A Strategy for Successful (and Great) Prints

Strategies for Resolving Print Artifacts

The Eclectic Angler
Post Reply

Return to “RostockMAX v3”