Hi, I'm not actually a bot, but I just ordered one...

Introduce yourself to the community!
bot
Printmaster!

Hi, I'm not actually a bot, but I just ordered one...

Post by bot »

A delta bot, that is. I'm super excited to get my max v2 kit. I've got some experience with home built rostocks in the past, so I'm sure I'll be happy with this kit. I also ordered some of those fancy Astrosyn dampers to make this thing quiet.

I was contemplating getting an E3d v6 as well, but I want to print PLA a lot, so I'm gonna try the stock hot end at first. If I do go the e3d route, is it suggested to stick with 1.75mm? I kinda like 3mm filament but really have never used 1.75.

Anyway... I'm just thrilled to be a part of this awesome community. SeeMeCNC has been great so far in answering all my questions.

I'm located in Vancouver, Canada, if there are any other users from that area we should meet up sometime!
*not actually a robot
Jimustanguitar
ULTIMATE 3D JEDI

Re: Hi, I'm not actually a bot, but I just ordered one...

Post by Jimustanguitar »

bot wrote:I've got some experience with home built rostocks in the past, so I'm sure I'll be happy with this kit.

If I do go the e3d route, is it suggested to stick with 1.75mm? I kinda like 3mm filament but really have never used 1.75

Tell us about the other Delta's you've seen. I'm curious now.

I'd stick with 1.75 still. Since it's less material per length than 3mm, you can get away with direct drive extruders, and it also pre-heats less PLA in the hotend because it's moving faster for a given volume of extrusion.
bot
Printmaster!

Post by bot »

Well they were based off the original Rostock design. linear bearings on rods, wooden frame, RAMPS 1.4. Pretty similar overall to the MAX, but still way far away from the quality of the max kit.

Here is one of the early iterations of one of the rostocks I was working with:

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gwT0z2QwZBc[/youtube]