A school in desperate need of help!

Introduce yourself to the community!
imaprinter
Noob

A school in desperate need of help!

Post by imaprinter »

Hello community! My name is Howard and I am a Graphic Arts & Imaging teacher in Ohio. I am in my 26th year of teaching and I was a Graphic Arts/Printing student myself. Back in the day of school, I handset type and used a Linotype machine to cast metal type. Graduating in the early 80's I did see the end of letterpress and the introduction of phototypesetting which was a boon for Offset. Digital was only being dreamed of in those days. Working in the industry (at a newspaper) I was able to see the introduction of computer typesetting and the rise of the macintosh in the graphics industry. By the time I became a teacher in 1988 Macintosh was becoming the imaging device of choice and laserprinters were on the rise. As time has went by it has been very DIFFICULT to try and keep up with technology. The program I run has finally in the last few years, truly developed a current equipment. At my school we have 24 iMacs (36" monitors) 8 full color and 1 B & W output devices. We have a 44" wide format print device. A 6 color 4 station screen printing press. 8 digital cameras, a full bindery for our print output.

This year we were also able to purchase an Orion 3D printer. I am excited to offer to my students the ability to stay AHEAD instead of behind in technology for a change. We have been able to set-up and stumble through a few projects, but I REALLY REALLY need some help moving forward! I want to describe what we have done so far and ask one of you experts to help me develop worksheets and information sheet to allow my student to print their own designs!