Is PEI that good?

User-Generated tips and tricks for the Rostock Max, Orion, H1.1, or H1 Printers
duvdev
Printmaster!

Is PEI that good?

Post by duvdev »

Hi all,

I have been printing with my all my max v2 printers for 2 years and I long time ago I ordered round 4 PEI sheets with the M3 glue on then.

I print a lot with ABS, Polycarbonate and nylon and I want to know if the PEI is really that good.

I now have some time to installed it, any tips?
After ibtalling it dot I need to use something like glue, abs joice on it?

Thanks a lot.
nebbian
Printmaster!

Re: Is PEI that good?

Post by nebbian »

You'll need some sort of juice for Nylon, I think that white woodworking glue (PVA) diluted with water works well. Not sure about polycarbonate.

It does work quite well for PLA, ABS and PETG, no surface prep necessary, except for the odd weekly wipe with acetone on a paper towel.
Tincho85
Printmaster!

Post by Tincho85 »

nebbian wrote:You'll need some sort of juice for Nylon, I think that white woodworking glue (PVA) diluted with water works well. Not sure about polycarbonate.

It does work quite well for PLA, ABS and PETG, no surface prep necessary, except for the odd weekly wipe with acetone on a paper towel.
I wouldn't use acetone if the PEI is still warm, it will degrade its surface. Only use it when it's cold.
A safer approach is to use isopropyl alcohol as I do.
Martín S.
Xenocrates
ULTIMATE 3D JEDI

Post by Xenocrates »

It really is that good. I suggest the following procedure:
If you have a heatspreader that is relatively flat, set the glass aside. You can put it on when you're working with ninjaflex, nylon, or others that don't stick or stick too well to PEI. this way you can eliminate the insulating effect of the glass and have more controlled surface temperatures. if not, install it on the glass.