OOZE at startup time

User-Generated tips and tricks for the Rostock Max, Orion, H1.1, or H1 Printers
Post Reply
xr750
Plasticator
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2014 7:52 pm

OOZE at startup time

Post by xr750 »

While waiting for the heated bed to rise to print temperature. The filament would ooze from the hot end and make a mess on the heated bed. So, I changed the start up GCODE to wait until the bed was up to temperature prior to turn on the hot end. Solved the problem.
User avatar
Eaglezsoar
ULTIMATE 3D JEDI
Posts: 7185
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 5:26 pm

Re: OOZE at startup time

Post by Eaglezsoar »

xr750 wrote:While waiting for the heated bed to rise to print temperature. The filament would ooze from the hot end and make a mess on the heated bed. So, I changed the start up GCODE to wait until the bed was up to temperature prior to turn on the hot end. Solved the problem.
Great idea! Thanks for sharing your tip.
bot
Printmaster!
Posts: 993
Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2014 12:18 am
Location: Vancouver
Contact:

Re: OOZE at startup time

Post by bot »

A lot of slicers do this automatically. Another thing that can be done, is that a short print move can be completed at an extremity, to clear the nozzle of debris before beginning the purge/skirt, then the print.
*not actually a robot
User avatar
Creator
Plasticator
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2015 6:06 am

Re: OOZE at startup time

Post by Creator »

Nice! Noob question:
Since my printer only is about a week old i have no idea how to actually "change the start up GCODE"..
Is there any good posts/guides on GCODE that you could recommend? :)
ccavanaugh
Printmaster!
Posts: 298
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2012 5:03 pm
Location: Indiana

Re: OOZE at startup time

Post by ccavanaugh »

Another approach is to add g-code to take the nozzle to the surface of the bed after it heats, then turn the nozzle on. After nozzle reaches temp, lift a millimeter or two and print.

This stops all drool even while the nozzle heat because it's blocked off.

It also reduces 1st layer nozzle temp drift because the PID control has already adjusted to the effect of it being close to the heated bed.
RAMTechRob
Printmaster!
Posts: 171
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2014 10:00 pm

Re: OOZE at startup time

Post by RAMTechRob »

Can you give us this new Gcode?
ccavanaugh
Printmaster!
Posts: 298
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2012 5:03 pm
Location: Indiana

Re: OOZE at startup time

Post by ccavanaugh »

Code: Select all

M190 S<BED>  ; set the bed temperature
G4 S60       ; wait for bed to settle a bit and spread
M104 S<TEMP> ; set the extruder temperature and return
M44	     ; Turn on the chassis fan

G28 ; home all axes

G0 Z20.0 X0 Y90 F3800	; move and place the tip on the bed
G0 Z0.00 X0 Y90 F1500  ; to prevent drool and hotend heats

M109 S<TEMP>; set the extruder temperature and wait

G4 S5 ; Dwell, make the blob stick

G0 Z1.00 X0 Y90 F2500 ; Lift the tip to prevent dragging

This is what I use of Kisslicer

Code: Select all

M190 S[first_layer_bed_temperature] ; set the bed temperature
G4 S60 ; wait for bed to settle a bit and spread
M104 S[first_layer_temperature] ; set the extruder temperature and return immediately

M44	; Turn on the chassis fan

G28 ; home all axes

G0 Z20.0 X0 Y90 F3800	; move and place the tip on the bed
G0 Z0.00 X0 Y90 F1500	; to prevent drool and hotend heats

M109 S[first_layer_temperature] ; set the extruder temperature and wait

G4 S5	; Dwell, make the blob stick

G0 Z1.00 X0 Y90 F2500 ; Lift the tip to prevent dragging
This is what I use of Slic3r
RAMTechRob
Printmaster!
Posts: 171
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2014 10:00 pm

Re: OOZE at startup time

Post by RAMTechRob »

Thanks, I will give that a try.
Post Reply

Return to “General Tips 'N Tricks”