mhackney's Beta DropLit build

Start your own build thread so others can see how it's going, and even help out!
User avatar
Glacian22
Printmaster!
Posts: 330
Joined: Thu Apr 04, 2013 6:07 am
Location: Seattle

Re: mhackney's Beta DropLit build

Post by Glacian22 »

Ah gotcha. Feel better, and have fun in ~40 hours! :D

User avatar
mhackney
ULTIMATE 3D JEDI
Posts: 5412
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 4:15 pm
Location: MA, USA
Contact:

Re: mhackney's Beta DropLit build

Post by mhackney »

I kept the cup so I can test progress. This morning the material is set but tacky. Perfectly flat and clear too.

Sublime Layers - my blog on Musings and Experiments in 3D Printing Technology and Art

Start Here:
A Strategy for Successful (and Great) Prints

Strategies for Resolving Print Artifacts

The Eclectic Angler

User avatar
mhackney
ULTIMATE 3D JEDI
Posts: 5412
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 4:15 pm
Location: MA, USA
Contact:

Re: mhackney's Beta DropLit build

Post by mhackney »

1/2 way there! One day down, one to go.

Sublime Layers - my blog on Musings and Experiments in 3D Printing Technology and Art

Start Here:
A Strategy for Successful (and Great) Prints

Strategies for Resolving Print Artifacts

The Eclectic Angler

User avatar
Eaglezsoar
ULTIMATE 3D JEDI
Posts: 7185
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 5:26 pm

Re: mhackney's Beta DropLit build

Post by Eaglezsoar »

mhackney wrote:Yes, there are instructions to do that. I am a bit under the weather with a cold so not really in a hurry today!

You need to drink a "little" more whiskey to kill those nasty invaders. ;)

User avatar
mhackney
ULTIMATE 3D JEDI
Posts: 5412
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 4:15 pm
Location: MA, USA
Contact:

Re: mhackney's Beta DropLit build

Post by mhackney »

It might have been whiskey that lowered my resistance last weekend! I suspect so anyway.

Sublime Layers - my blog on Musings and Experiments in 3D Printing Technology and Art

Start Here:
A Strategy for Successful (and Great) Prints

Strategies for Resolving Print Artifacts

The Eclectic Angler

User avatar
JohnStack
Printmaster!
Posts: 852
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2013 7:07 pm
Location: Carlsbad, CA
Contact:

Re: mhackney's Beta DropLit build

Post by JohnStack »

mhackney wrote:It might have been whiskey that lowered my resistance last weekend! I suspect so anyway.


What kind or does it matter?
Technologist, Maker, Willing to question conventional logic
http://dropc.am/p/KhiI1a

User avatar
mhackney
ULTIMATE 3D JEDI
Posts: 5412
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 4:15 pm
Location: MA, USA
Contact:

Re: mhackney's Beta DropLit build

Post by mhackney »

It was a 20 year old Springbank. I think the exact distillery and age absolutely matters!

Sublime Layers - my blog on Musings and Experiments in 3D Printing Technology and Art

Start Here:
A Strategy for Successful (and Great) Prints

Strategies for Resolving Print Artifacts

The Eclectic Angler

geneb
ULTIMATE 3D JEDI
Posts: 5140
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:47 pm
Location: Graham, WA
Contact:

Re: mhackney's Beta DropLit build

Post by geneb »

mhackney, I've uploaded your firmware image using XLoader and when I connect with the printer, it registers as you show it should. however, when I send a Z movement, nothing happens.

When I have "Show Verbose Output" checked, it starts scrolling data in the output window UNTIL I hit one of the Z motion buttons and it it stops, like so:

[verbose]<Idle,MPos:0.000,0.000,0.000,WPos:0.000,0.000,0.000>
[verbose]<Idle,MPos:0.000,0.000,0.000,WPos:0.000,0.000,0.000>
[verbose]<Idle,MPos:0.000,0.000,0.000,WPos:0.000,0.000,0.000>
>>> G91 G0 Z1
ok

The Z stepper never moves. Suggestions?

Also, how can I interrogate the condition of the limit switch by hand?

tnx!

g.
Delta Power!
Defeat the Cartesian Agenda!
http://www.f15sim.com - 80-0007, The only one of its kind.
http://geneb.simpits.org - Technical and Simulator Projects

User avatar
mhackney
ULTIMATE 3D JEDI
Posts: 5412
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 4:15 pm
Location: MA, USA
Contact:

Re: mhackney's Beta DropLit build

Post by mhackney »

Did you figure it out Gene?

Sublime Layers - my blog on Musings and Experiments in 3D Printing Technology and Art

Start Here:
A Strategy for Successful (and Great) Prints

Strategies for Resolving Print Artifacts

The Eclectic Angler

geneb
ULTIMATE 3D JEDI
Posts: 5140
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:47 pm
Location: Graham, WA
Contact:

Re: mhackney's Beta DropLit build

Post by geneb »

Nope. You can interact with grbl however you like, but the instant you send a G code, it locks up hard.

g.
Delta Power!
Defeat the Cartesian Agenda!
http://www.f15sim.com - 80-0007, The only one of its kind.
http://geneb.simpits.org - Technical and Simulator Projects

Mimo
Plasticator
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2014 12:46 pm
Location: Israel
Contact:

Re: mhackney's Beta DropLit build

Post by Mimo »

I am in the same situation Gene described.
I can interact with the grbl (using Arduino Serial monitor) but I cant seem to be able to connect to him with nor the repetiter or the Creation Workshop
with the Creation workshop I dont get any response.
with the Repetier when I connect says:
13:34:32.471 : No start signal detected - forcing start
13:34:32.541 : error: Unsupported command
13:34:32.545 : error: Unsupported command
13:34:32.545 : error: Unsupported command
13:34:32.549 : error: Unsupported command
13:34:32.553 : error: Unsupported command
13:34:32.553 : error: Unsupported command
13:34:32.557 : error: Expected command letter
13:34:32.561 : error: Unsupported command
13:34:32.561 : error: Unsupported command
13:34:35.539 : error: Unsupported command
13:34:38.594 : error: Unsupported command
13:34:41.649 : error: Unsupported command
13:34:44.706 : error: Unsupported command
13:34:47.769 : error: Unsupported command


Anyone has a suggestion/a clue what have I done/doing wrong?
Print your Dreams and make them real

vonhellsing
Prints-a-lot
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2014 9:27 pm

Re: grbl .9g hex file configured for DropLit

Post by vonhellsing »

Hi i using arduino uno and gbrl i try upload your hex and just show

Grbl 0.9g-DropLit ['$' for help]
ALARM: Hard/soft limit
[Reset to continue]

:(

i belive thats my uno its week :(

its possible you post you configuration to me try using with 0.8 ?

i got some problems with Z limiter in gbrl protoneer

cheers!

an

mhackney wrote:All, here is the latest grbl firmware preconfigured for the DropLit and compiled into a 'hex' file that you can flash to the Arduino. It is pretty much "load and run" but if you need to tweak configuration you can do that with any host application and set parameters in EEPROM (but I have preconfigured defaults and if you wire your stepper and stop switch like I did, it should work out of the box). When you first connect (set baud rate to 115200) you will see a version string returned. It is "Grbl 0.9g-DropLit" for this release. At this point enter the command '$' and ht return and you'll get a list of commands grbl handles. $I returns the firmware version and info string. '$$' returns the list of parameters. To set a parameter you use '$N=XYZ' - you'll understand what this means when you see the '$$' output.

I've been using the Universal GcodeSender (v 1.0.4) that supports all platforms and is by the same author as grbl. But you can use Repetier, Prontorface or any other host or terminal app (CoolTerm is another good cross-platrform app to use).

Follow the information on the grbl wiki to flash the attached hex file - but first, remove the ".txt" part of the file name. It should be named grbl.hex when you upload. I use the command line method on Mac OSX and Windows 7 that uses the tools built into the Arduino IDE. The utility that SeeMeCNC posted on the DropLit github works well too but it's Windows only.

Once flashed, connect and then jog using normal gcode movement (Z axis only) or the Z +/- buttons in the host application if it has them.

Although the grbl firmware supports a lot of features, the DropLit has minimal requirements - a Z axis stepper and a single end stop switch - so the configuration is pretty simple.

User avatar
mhackney
ULTIMATE 3D JEDI
Posts: 5412
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 4:15 pm
Location: MA, USA
Contact:

Re: mhackney's Beta DropLit build

Post by mhackney »

grbl.zip
(336.33 KiB) Downloaded 69 times


Here's my entire file. I have not touched my Droplet for months while I am working on other projects. It looks like the interest in Droplet is increasing AND I now have a PC to control the projector so I'll try to resurrect my machine this weekend.

Sublime Layers - my blog on Musings and Experiments in 3D Printing Technology and Art

Start Here:
A Strategy for Successful (and Great) Prints

Strategies for Resolving Print Artifacts

The Eclectic Angler

vonhellsing
Prints-a-lot
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2014 9:27 pm

Re: mhackney's Beta DropLit build

Post by vonhellsing »

thx,

every time when i connect my endstop COM/NC or COM/NO on Z+ i get this message if i dont connect endstop run normally :(
Grbl 0.9g-DropLit ['$' for help]
ALARM: Hard/soft limit
[Reset to continue]

i did this post but i'm really lost kkk
http://forum.seemecnc.com/viewtopic.php?f=89&t=7594
i did some changes in project like use linear bars and lm8uu, put stepmotor in center, create some printed parts, but end stop stay kill me.

cheers!

User avatar
mhackney
ULTIMATE 3D JEDI
Posts: 5412
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 4:15 pm
Location: MA, USA
Contact:

Re: mhackney's Beta DropLit build

Post by mhackney »

Ok, I have Droplit dusted off and connected to my macbook. I can connect via CoolTerm and now starting to refamiliarize myself with grbl.

Sublime Layers - my blog on Musings and Experiments in 3D Printing Technology and Art

Start Here:
A Strategy for Successful (and Great) Prints

Strategies for Resolving Print Artifacts

The Eclectic Angler

User avatar
mhackney
ULTIMATE 3D JEDI
Posts: 5412
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 4:15 pm
Location: MA, USA
Contact:

Re: mhackney's Beta DropLit build

Post by mhackney »

Here are my grill settings (send $$ in culture or your terminal app):

Code: Select all

$0=10 (step pulse, usec)
$1=200 (step idle delay, msec)
$2=0 (step port invert mask:00000000)
$3=0 (dir port invert mask:00000000)
$4=0 (step enable invert, bool)
$5=0 (limit pins invert, bool)
$6=0 (probe pin invert, bool)
$10=3 (status report mask:00000011)
$11=0.050 (junction deviation, mm)
$12=0.002 (arc tolerance, mm)
$13=0 (report inches, bool)
$14=1 (auto start, bool)
$20=0 (soft limits, bool)
$21=1 (hard limits, bool)
$22=0 (homing cycle, bool)
$23=0 (homing dir invert mask:00000000)
$24=100.000 (homing feed, mm/min)
$25=200.000 (homing seek, mm/min)
$26=250 (homing debounce, msec)
$27=5.000 (homing pull-off, mm)
$100=2000.000 (x, step/mm)
$101=2000.000 (y, step/mm)
$102=2000.000 (z, step/mm)
$110=500.000 (x max rate, mm/min)
$111=500.000 (y max rate, mm/min)
$112=500.000 (z max rate, mm/min)
$120=10.000 (x accel, mm/sec^2)
$121=10.000 (y accel, mm/sec^2)
$122=10.000 (z accel, mm/sec^2)
$130=100.000 (x max travel, mm)
$131=100.000 (y max travel, mm)
$132=200.000 (z max travel, mm)
ok

Sublime Layers - my blog on Musings and Experiments in 3D Printing Technology and Art

Start Here:
A Strategy for Successful (and Great) Prints

Strategies for Resolving Print Artifacts

The Eclectic Angler

User avatar
mhackney
ULTIMATE 3D JEDI
Posts: 5412
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 4:15 pm
Location: MA, USA
Contact:

Re: mhackney's Beta DropLit build

Post by mhackney »

I am running form a different mac than I used to set up initially. I forgot about this issue when using Universal GCode Sender. See https://github.com/winder/Universal-G-Code-Sender

Note for MAC users: You may need to create a "/var/lock" directory on OSX to fix a bug in the serial library. To do this open the Terminal application and run the following two commands:
sudo mkdir /var/lock
sudo chmod 777 /var/lock

Sublime Layers - my blog on Musings and Experiments in 3D Printing Technology and Art

Start Here:
A Strategy for Successful (and Great) Prints

Strategies for Resolving Print Artifacts

The Eclectic Angler

vonhellsing
Prints-a-lot
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2014 9:27 pm

Re: mhackney's Beta DropLit build

Post by vonhellsing »

hi !

now i have sucess in run with COM/NC wiring in Z+, but when pull switch freeze and show
ALARM: Hard/soft limit
[Reset to continue]

if i using COM/NO i need pull to dont show this message or freezing when connect on UniversalGcode

:(

i need disable alarm with $X ? and using NC configuration to Z limiter ? or i using NO configuration ?

cheers!

angelini

User avatar
mhackney
ULTIMATE 3D JEDI
Posts: 5412
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 4:15 pm
Location: MA, USA
Contact:

Re: mhackney's Beta DropLit build

Post by mhackney »

Angelini, you do know that the switch at the top of the droplit is not a home switch, right? I got hung up on that. It really doesn't do anything terribly useful. If you get that far that you need a limit, you have other problems! I recommend ignoring it for now and getting the machine to move correctly and then attempt to print.

Sublime Layers - my blog on Musings and Experiments in 3D Printing Technology and Art

Start Here:
A Strategy for Successful (and Great) Prints

Strategies for Resolving Print Artifacts

The Eclectic Angler

vonhellsing
Prints-a-lot
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2014 9:27 pm

Re: mhackney's Beta DropLit build

Post by vonhellsing »

humm!

its diferent than FDM printers

i think thats my Z gone to endstop than come down to start print, Z limiter its just to dont blowup and print bed dont go to stars ?

cheers!

angelini

User avatar
mhackney
ULTIMATE 3D JEDI
Posts: 5412
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 4:15 pm
Location: MA, USA
Contact:

Re: mhackney's Beta DropLit build

Post by mhackney »

That's it! No going to the stars!

Sublime Layers - my blog on Musings and Experiments in 3D Printing Technology and Art

Start Here:
A Strategy for Successful (and Great) Prints

Strategies for Resolving Print Artifacts

The Eclectic Angler

User avatar
mhackney
ULTIMATE 3D JEDI
Posts: 5412
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 4:15 pm
Location: MA, USA
Contact:

$%^&

Post by mhackney »

Double darn it! Now I remember why I lost interest in the DropLit build. I have a macbook laptop that I planned to use to control the machine. It boots into Windows 7 so should be a typical windows machine. The ONLY SLA printer control software out there (at least that I can find) is Creation Workshop and it only runs on Windows. I can't connect my $%^ Acer DLP projector to Windows. I planned to use HDMI to connect and the mac has a miniDV display to HDMI but I have not been able to figure out how Windows can connect with it. So I am back at the same frustrating place...

Sublime Layers - my blog on Musings and Experiments in 3D Printing Technology and Art

Start Here:
A Strategy for Successful (and Great) Prints

Strategies for Resolving Print Artifacts

The Eclectic Angler

vonhellsing
Prints-a-lot
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2014 9:27 pm

Re: mhackney's Beta DropLit build

Post by vonhellsing »

simple adapter miniDV 2 HDMI, click in right mouse buttom and screen resolution, :)

vonhellsing
Prints-a-lot
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2014 9:27 pm

Re: mhackney's Beta DropLit build

Post by vonhellsing »

i start belive thats i burn my GBRL :(

i change pololu but when i connect Grbl 0.8c ['$' for help] just show this
>>> $$
$0=0.0000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000þ

User avatar
mhackney
ULTIMATE 3D JEDI
Posts: 5412
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 4:15 pm
Location: MA, USA
Contact:

Re: mhackney's Beta DropLit build

Post by mhackney »

I have the mini DVI to HDMI cable. I've spent at least 10 hours trying to get it to work without success.

That is odd about the grill. What application are you using as a host?

Sublime Layers - my blog on Musings and Experiments in 3D Printing Technology and Art

Start Here:
A Strategy for Successful (and Great) Prints

Strategies for Resolving Print Artifacts

The Eclectic Angler

Post Reply

Return to “The Build Zone”