Renovating a Printrbot LC v1

Such as Laser cutters (Must use the phrase 'sharks with frickin lazors' once per thread)
Post Reply
brent
Printmaster!
Posts: 247
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 10:24 pm
Location: Mass.

Renovating a Printrbot LC v1

Post by brent »

My Printrbot LC v1 was my first printer and it has fallen into a state of neglect for the past few months. I am (finally) off for winter break and I'll be spending (most) of this week restoring it to it's original condition and adding some modifications along the way.

User avatar
Eaglezsoar
ULTIMATE 3D JEDI
Posts: 7185
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 5:26 pm

Re: Renovating a Printrbot LC v1

Post by Eaglezsoar »

Good luck on your restoration and mods.

brent
Printmaster!
Posts: 247
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 10:24 pm
Location: Mass.

Re: Renovating a Printrbot LC v1

Post by brent »

I switched my phone>cloud provider from Dropbox to Google Drive and somehow lost a few files. It's back and running so here is the log (so far).


Decided to cut the smooth and threaded rods with a hacksaw. A contractor at the hardware store I bought them from told me to put the nut on the threaded rod before I cut it to avoid ruining the thread. That possibility did not even come to my mind before he mentioned it. After thanking him, and buying my parts, I went straight to cutting.
Image

"Test Fit" for comparison between stock rod and the first smooth rod I cut
Image

The first rod looked good, so I went ahead and cut the other 3
Image

Printrbot LC v1's have a "flap" (visible on the right side next to the motor) that prevents the rod from going too far. It is important to remove it (removed on the left side) in order to get the rods out from underneath. Pulling them out from the top is either incredibly difficult, unless you are Arnold Schwarzenegger, or risks cracking the wood.
Image

Pulled the old rods out
Image

And put the new ones in. I left the old smooth rods in for a comparison shot.
Image

brent
Printmaster!
Posts: 247
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 10:24 pm
Location: Mass.

Re: Renovating a Printrbot LC v1

Post by brent »

So the printer is taller now. I still need to extend the wires. But first, let's take care of the dead power supply.

I took a new PSU out of the box and immediately voided its warranty!
Image

more soon

User avatar
jdurand
Printmaster!
Posts: 397
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2014 12:41 am
Location: Silicon Valley, California
Contact:

Re: Renovating a Printrbot LC v1

Post by jdurand »

When people post these huge pictures all I get is the left hand edge with no scroll bars or resizing like I get on other forums. Is there a trick to viewing these here?
Standing on the edge of reality... (me)
Quando omni flunkus moritati (Red Green)
Let no man belong to another that can belong to himself. (Paracelsus)
All things are poison and nothing is without poison; only the dose makes a thing not a poison. (Ibid.)

Mac The Knife
ULTIMATE 3D JEDI
Posts: 1385
Joined: Sun May 11, 2014 6:18 pm

Re: Renovating a Printrbot LC v1

Post by Mac The Knife »

jdurand wrote:When people post these huge pictures all I get is the left hand edge with no scroll bars or resizing like I get on other forums. Is there a trick to viewing these here?



Right click on the image, and click on "view image".
R-Max V2
Eris
Folger Tech FT-5 R2

User avatar
jdurand
Printmaster!
Posts: 397
Joined: Mon Dec 01, 2014 12:41 am
Location: Silicon Valley, California
Contact:

Re: Renovating a Printrbot LC v1

Post by jdurand »

Mac The Knife wrote:

Right click on the image, and click on "view image".


Thanks much!
Standing on the edge of reality... (me)
Quando omni flunkus moritati (Red Green)
Let no man belong to another that can belong to himself. (Paracelsus)
All things are poison and nothing is without poison; only the dose makes a thing not a poison. (Ibid.)

jesse
Printmaster!
Posts: 418
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2013 8:38 pm
Contact:

Re: Renovating a Printrbot LC v1

Post by jesse »

What's the new build height?

Post Reply

Return to “Other Machines”