Will Max print this?

http://freecadweb.org
tcat007
Printmaster!

Will Max print this?

Post by tcat007 »

I grabbed a part off Thingiverse and added a couple mods (hole and notch). The walls from my mods are not surfaced, but the openings are not seen in "Z", so will they print? I'm new to CAD and just trying to learn how to modify stl files. Attached is the file. Don't really want to try a print if it will fail. I created holes from a cylinder and cube thru mesh. If I need to close the surfaces, please tell me how. Thanks!
Attachments
Clip.stl
(89.24 KiB) Downloaded 295 times
nitewatchman
Printmaster!

Re: Will Max print this?

Post by nitewatchman »

It may have difficulty depending upon which slicer you use BUT it should be able to print this one. Some of the surfaces lost fine definition during the repair but I don't think that you will notice in the final print.

Typically parts like your model are considered "Not Manifold" (think water tight) and unpredictable things can happen.

gary
Attachments
Clip (repaired).stl
(392.55 KiB) Downloaded 286 times
tcat007
Printmaster!

Post by tcat007 »

Thanks, that looks good in a viewer. I had tried the "open" one and even though the mods were on the 3D screen, it printed it as if they were not there. I'll try your file next. Going to try it with Cura slicer, MatterSlice vastly underestimated build time (23 min est, 45 min actual). By the way, what did you use to repair it?
nitewatchman
Printmaster!

Post by nitewatchman »

Flogged it with nettfab. If you try a simple repair it will just fill the holes. If you add enough triangle to give it the right idea usually it will complete the repair automatically.

nettfab is a VERY handy tool to have around. The commercial version is awesome but it is also $300, for me the free version does most everything that I want. Would be nice to have the Boolean capabilities but not worth the cost for me.

gary
bot
Printmaster!

Post by bot »