Auto Model Scale Algorithm To Counter Filament Shrinkage

A place to talk about ideas for other tech around resin 3d printing
Ascensi
Prints-a-lot

Auto Model Scale Algorithm To Counter Filament Shrinkage

Post by Ascensi »

Just like the subject implies, it would be great to integrate Automatic scaling algorithms based on a filament's known shrinking values to get a more precise printing/engineering match. Currently I am waiting for my printer to be shipped then built.. I have no experience printing and don't know if this kind of feature exists already but just looking in Matter Control and Repetier-Host I see no Material/Filament Auto Tuning /Offset Scale-Model-To-Filament Shrinkage Values.

From many videos and reading through forums I hear that one of the reasons why people don't often print big or can't effectively print big is because the printed object becomes less accurate.. I feel that some auto model scaling could help this.
Polygonhell
ULTIMATE 3D JEDI

Re: Auto Model Scale Algorithm To Counter Filament Shrinkage

Post by Polygonhell »

Shrinkage itself isn't a big deal. What it results in can be, shrinkage of hot plastic deposited on cooler plastic can cause warping of the model which gets worse as models get bigger. You cannot counter this with software.
The other people people blame on shrinkage is holes coming out undersized, but IMO the real issue here is the filament cutting corners and it tends to vary from printer to printer, so consistently correcting in software is tricky.
Ascensi
Prints-a-lot

Post by Ascensi »

Polygonhell wrote:Shrinkage itself isn't a big deal. What it results in can be, shrinkage of hot plastic deposited on cooler plastic can cause warping of the model which gets worse as models get bigger. You cannot counter this with software.