arduino setup
arduino setup
Hey guys looking to make an arduino setup just in case the driver board goes. If anyone can point me in the rite direction for a guide on how i would go about this or any advice would be welcome. Thanks in advance.
- michaellatif
- Printmaster!
- Posts: 343
- Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 1:34 pm
- Location: RTP, NC
Re: arduino setup
You have several options:
http://reprap.org/wiki/Comparison_of_Electronics
I went with a standalone version http://reprap.org/wiki/Sanguinololu Sanguinololu 1.3a board and parts from mouser. Build for ~$60 (not including the drivers +~$60). If you have compoents available already, this solution is cheap. I had the majority of capacitors, resistors and connectors needed and so I saved over $30 on this build.
My second option would be a http://reprap.org/wiki/Printrboard printrboard, for the $$ I think its good, down side is SMT that can be damaged is not easy to replace (mainly Alegro drivers).
For firmware/host software, I use Repetier. This one piece of software has the potential of finally making 3D printing feasible to the masses, simple, easy and intuitive interface. Plus each update, more feature/functionality.
If you have any other questions, let me know.
http://reprap.org/wiki/Comparison_of_Electronics
I went with a standalone version http://reprap.org/wiki/Sanguinololu Sanguinololu 1.3a board and parts from mouser. Build for ~$60 (not including the drivers +~$60). If you have compoents available already, this solution is cheap. I had the majority of capacitors, resistors and connectors needed and so I saved over $30 on this build.
My second option would be a http://reprap.org/wiki/Printrboard printrboard, for the $$ I think its good, down side is SMT that can be damaged is not easy to replace (mainly Alegro drivers).
For firmware/host software, I use Repetier. This one piece of software has the potential of finally making 3D printing feasible to the masses, simple, easy and intuitive interface. Plus each update, more feature/functionality.
If you have any other questions, let me know.
Mike Latif
H-1 #3
H-1 #3
-
- ULTIMATE 3D JEDI
- Posts: 2417
- Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 1:44 pm
- Location: Redmond WA
Re: arduino setup
I bought a preassembled complete RAMPS at Ultimachine, I considered the kit, but there are a lot of surface mounted components which are a pain to solder and I din't need to save the $.
I also use Repetier and Repetier Host, The only issue I have with repetier is that ReplicatorG overrides certain Skeinforge settings that results in GCode it won't run. I can use Skeinforge from Repetier Host or Slic3r or run Skeinforge seperately, but code generated from ReplicatorG doesn't want to run for me.
AFAICS firmwares go like this
Teacup - if the Arduino you bought has very little memory
Sprinter - is the starting point that others have copied
Repetier - Sprinter rewrite, has ramp acceleration and some other nice features, most notably ability to change some parameters without recompiling
Marlin - Seems to be considered the all singing all dancing firmware that can be a pain to setup - I haven't tried it
I also use Repetier and Repetier Host, The only issue I have with repetier is that ReplicatorG overrides certain Skeinforge settings that results in GCode it won't run. I can use Skeinforge from Repetier Host or Slic3r or run Skeinforge seperately, but code generated from ReplicatorG doesn't want to run for me.
AFAICS firmwares go like this
Teacup - if the Arduino you bought has very little memory
Sprinter - is the starting point that others have copied
Repetier - Sprinter rewrite, has ramp acceleration and some other nice features, most notably ability to change some parameters without recompiling
Marlin - Seems to be considered the all singing all dancing firmware that can be a pain to setup - I haven't tried it
Printer blog http://3dprinterhell.blogspot.com/
Re: arduino setup
Try Gen6 using Marlin and prontoface.
- Eaglezsoar
- ULTIMATE 3D JEDI
- Posts: 7159
- Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2012 5:26 pm
Re: arduino setup
Will Marlin and Prontoface run on the ramps platform?Prober wrote:Try Gen6 using Marlin and prontoface.
“ Do Not Regret Growing Older. It is a Privilege Denied to Many. ”
-
- ULTIMATE 3D JEDI
- Posts: 2417
- Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 1:44 pm
- Location: Redmond WA
Re: arduino setup
Yes.
Though if I'm being pedantic Marlin is the firmware and it runs on the "RAMPS Platform" or similar, Prontoface is host control software that runs on the PC.
Though if I'm being pedantic Marlin is the firmware and it runs on the "RAMPS Platform" or similar, Prontoface is host control software that runs on the PC.
Printer blog http://3dprinterhell.blogspot.com/
- michaellatif
- Printmaster!
- Posts: 343
- Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 1:34 pm
- Location: RTP, NC
Re: arduino setup
You guys really should try Repetier, if you haven't already done so. I have run sprinter, marlin and a few others. I have found Repetier to be the best for usability, stability, support (I don't get snide negative responses when I ask simple questions) and it works very well! So far I have it on a Sanguinololu board and waiting on my Printrboard, that will run it also.
Other firmwares are a might PITA to get to compile... Repetier is not exempt from this issue, but by far has the best support and documentation.
Oh, and I convinced a co-worker running a MakerBot with marlin to switch over to Repetier firmware and host software. He hasn't looked back!
Other firmwares are a might PITA to get to compile... Repetier is not exempt from this issue, but by far has the best support and documentation.
Oh, and I convinced a co-worker running a MakerBot with marlin to switch over to Repetier firmware and host software. He hasn't looked back!
Mike Latif
H-1 #3
H-1 #3
Re: arduino setup
Yea, I am considering a Printrboard for the sake of not having to deal/mess with too much crap and macintosh compatibility is a must for me.michaellatif wrote:You guys really should try Repetier, if you haven't already done so. I have run sprinter, marlin and a few others. I have found Repetier to be the best for usability, stability, support (I don't get snide negative responses when I ask simple questions) and it works very well! So far I have it on a Sanguinololu board and waiting on my Printrboard, that will run it also.
Other firmwares are a might PITA to get to compile... Repetier is not exempt from this issue, but by far has the best support and documentation.
Oh, and I convinced a co-worker running a MakerBot with marlin to switch over to Repetier firmware and host software. He hasn't looked back!
-Extrude3D/Brent
Re: arduino setup
Just remember guys, when going with the "all in one" boards like sanguino, printrboard etc..., you have to be comfortable with SMT soldering, because it's usually not if but when, you will at some point need to replace a stepper driver chip that got toasted or shorted, and these don't use the polulu shields like a RAMPS board, where you just pull and plug.
- michaellatif
- Printmaster!
- Posts: 343
- Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 1:34 pm
- Location: RTP, NC
Re: arduino setup
The Sanguinololu board does use the Pololu drivers as most other arduino based boards (RAMPS, Teensylu, Gen7, etc).johnoly99 wrote:Just remember guys, when going with the "all in one" boards like sanguino, printrboard etc..., you have to be comfortable with SMT soldering, because it's usually not if but when, you will at some point need to replace a stepper driver chip that got toasted or shorted, and these don't use the polulu shields like a RAMPS board, where you just pull and plug.
The Printrboard does use SMT, but for the $$ you can't beat it. I have so far not blown a Pololu driver and I have been brutal to them .
Mike Latif
H-1 #3
H-1 #3
Re: arduino setup
I have the Gen 6 and like it a lot for ease of installation etc. The only complaint is that it doesn't control a heated bed. If it ever blows, I'll get a G540. Overkill, yes, but it also has replaceable plug in drives and can drive a larger machine. I liked the specs on that Printrboard too.
I can solder, but not my cup of tea, so I prefer to let the pro's do it for me when possible.
I can solder, but not my cup of tea, so I prefer to let the pro's do it for me when possible.
Lee
Re: arduino setup
I live near an expert electrician down the road, I think he will be able to help me if it blows.Leeway wrote:I have the Gen 6 and like it a lot for ease of installation etc. The only complaint is that it doesn't control a heated bed. If it ever blows, I'll get a G540. Overkill, yes, but it also has replaceable plug in drives and can drive a larger machine. I liked the specs on that Printrboard too.
I can solder, but not my cup of tea, so I prefer to let the pro's do it for me when possible.
-Extrude3D/Brent