Auto Level Issues.

Having a problem? Post it here and someone will be along shortly to help
Post Reply
cozmic187
Noob
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2015 10:32 pm

Auto Level Issues.

Post by cozmic187 »

Have a V4 Rostock with a SE300 head.Had the unit turned off for about 3 days waiting for filament. When I turned it back on the printer would not auto-level. When it would come down the head would "skip" twice on the first hit. Work on the second then skip on the third. (Stopped it there not to damage the bed.)

Tried removing "config-overide.g" and "hightmap.csv" and doing a First Probe with the same "skipping results.

It seems that when the head hits the sensor is not triggered at first then it gets triggered on the second "skip".

Here is a quick video on what it is doing.

https://youtu.be/GfiG_kdCdnk

Any ideas on what to look for would be appreciated.

geneb
ULTIMATE 3D JEDI
Posts: 5121
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:47 pm
Location: Graham, WA
Contact:

Re: Auto Level Issues.

Post by geneb »

The video is a huge help, thanks! What you're seeing isn't really a "skip" The effector platform is being stopped by the nozzle and it's not detecting the "hit" until the platform is over-driven and it strikes the bed, triggering the sensor.

I would carefully clean the nozzle to make sure there's no filament on the tip - it needs to be completely clean. If it's not, it can be enough of a cushion to prevent the sensor from detecting the hit in time.

g.
Delta Power!
Defeat the Cartesian Agenda!
http://www.f15sim.com - 80-0007, The only one of its kind.
http://geneb.simpits.org - Technical and Simulator Projects

cozmic187
Noob
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 30, 2015 10:32 pm

Re: Auto Level Issues.

Post by cozmic187 »

geneb wrote:
Mon Jul 27, 2020 8:28 am
The video is a huge help, thanks! What you're seeing isn't really a "skip" The effector platform is being stopped by the nozzle and it's not detecting the "hit" until the platform is over-driven and it strikes the bed, triggering the sensor.

I would carefully clean the nozzle to make sure there's no filament on the tip - it needs to be completely clean. If it's not, it can be enough of a cushion to prevent the sensor from detecting the hit in time.

g.
Thank you. The nozzle was clean. I ended up taking apart the head, reassembled it and not it works for the first half and stops during "bed mapping" with a "Z probe already triggered" error.

geneb
ULTIMATE 3D JEDI
Posts: 5121
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 12:47 pm
Location: Graham, WA
Contact:

Re: Auto Level Issues.

Post by geneb »

Is the bed powered up during the probing by chance? If not, I'd email [email protected] - I'm out of sane guesses at this point. ;)

g.
Delta Power!
Defeat the Cartesian Agenda!
http://www.f15sim.com - 80-0007, The only one of its kind.
http://geneb.simpits.org - Technical and Simulator Projects

Post Reply

Return to “Troubleshooting”