Looking for a 3D Printer

Introduce yourself to the community!
type
Prints-a-lot

Looking for a 3D Printer

Post by type »

Hello,

I would like to introduce myself and ask a few questions before I go and jump the gun and purchase something I dont know enough about.
I sure have learned alot over the last few days researching 3D Printers but I would still consider myself an newbie with a ton more to learn. I have a few questions to help me work on that. :D

1st, the Rostock MAX claims .05mm layer thickness, I have not found a printer outside of a SLA to break .1mm. Does the Rostock really print at .05 or finer like it claims? I would assume that would give the Rostock the best print quality of all the printers out there right now correct?

2nd, I am not a engineer, although I am quite intuitive and have worked in both mechanical and electronical assemble for near a decade, is the assemble task bearable? Is it just a huge time sink?
- I hear alot about parts not fitting, or needed to be sanded down to get them to fit right. Is this true? Will I have to spend hours sanding down parts and have the chance to mess them up?

3rd, Once all the setup is done how is the calibration of the printer? Is this something that will take days to weeks as well? Are there common problems that go wrong at this stage that everyone has to deal with?

4th, After everything is done can I expect my Rostock MAX printer to just work day in and day out? Or should I be devoting alot of time to fix and tweak it over and over? Will I have more time printing things than fixing the printer?

5th, I really like the look of the Onyx heat bed, but after seeing and hearing alot about it being warped and not reaching temp, should I avoid this?