[Solved] Extruder Skipping Steps

Having a problem? Post it here and someone will be along shortly to help
Soynuts
Plasticator

[Solved] Extruder Skipping Steps

Post by Soynuts »

I have been battling a problem with my extruder skipping steps with a e3d Titan. No matter what I try, I can not pin down the problem. I had been battling this same problem for the past 4 months and thought I had it resolved.

My X axis motor had died on me, so I moved the extruder motor down to it and put in a nema 17 pancake motor in for the extruder. It skipped steps, so figured I just need to get a new nema 17 motor. Wired the new one up, seemed to work, and started a test print. After 30 minutes I had noticed nothing was extruding and it was skipping steps.

Cleaned out the nozzle and set the temp up from 235 to 260 (I print with MG94 ABS). Still skips like crazy. My motor current is set to 165, thought I should try a little more juice and put it to 175, no change, so put it back down. If I manually extrude with the titan gear, it moves smooth like butter. But if I let the motor try to do it, it just skips.

Motor: [img]http://i.imgur.com/TI6YvRX.jpg?1[/img]
Fan attached to motor: [img]http://i.imgur.com/5gWNlcJ.jpg[/img]
Raspberry Pi heatsinks on all motor drivers plus 40mm fan blowing across: [img]http://i.imgur.com/9na0nOc.jpg[/img]

Video of me manually extruding it: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-CjBT_PknOQ
Video of the motor trying to extrude: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8_TZA9Z5spM

I'm not sure what else to try at this point.
Last edited by Soynuts on Fri Sep 09, 2016 1:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.
joe
Printmaster!

Re: Extruder Skipping Steps

Post by joe »

Can you extrude with Bowden tube out of the hotend? Did you change your steps/mm in the epprom for the Titan?
Could be a wiring issue
And clean up that wiring! Get a fan on the back (back side of the Rambo)those stepper drivers . That is where they need cooling.