Is it possible to edit the slicing of MC?

Burley
Prints-a-lot

Is it possible to edit the slicing of MC?

Post by Burley »

Hi all,

I'm very new to this whole process. I modeled an item in Sketchup, exported to an STL file and read it into MC. Stepping through the generated layers, I see one that is really wacky (tech term ;) ) and I want to delete that one layer, can/how do I do it?

Jim
mhackney
ULTIMATE 3D JEDI

Re: Is it possible to edit the slicing of MC?

Post by mhackney »

Not really, all you can do is play with slicing parameters. Can you post a screenshot? Maybe we can help more.

Sublime Layers - my blog on Musings and Experiments in 3D Printing Technology and Art

Start Here:
A Strategy for Successful (and Great) Prints

Strategies for Resolving Print Artifacts

The Eclectic Angler
Polygonhell
ULTIMATE 3D JEDI

Post by Polygonhell »

SketchUp is a bad tool for building things to be printed, it's way too easy to generate geometry that won't slice well.
I'd recommend the free version of Fusion 360 or OnShape, but I don't mind my stiff being in the cloud.
Burley
Prints-a-lot

Post by Burley »

:)
Last edited by Burley on Tue Oct 04, 2016 8:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Burley
Prints-a-lot

Post by Burley »

I thought there was possibly some temporary gcode file built before the actual printing begins. Seems like there should be someplace that the data is available...hmmm. I tried Fusion but the 'cloud' is too much of a pain with super slow internet speeds. Thanks.
mhackney
ULTIMATE 3D JEDI

Post by mhackney »

There is a gcode file and you can save it. But editing out an entire layer is not trivial. It can be done but you probably won't be happy with the results and it depends on other slicer nuances and configuration. I manually combine gcode files but i have good reason to do this. Otherwise I'd verify the model. Or Prost a screenshot so we can see what you ae talking about.