Z offset starts out cleaning at correct height, but goes up 5mm or so when it starts to print

sandcrab123
Noob

Z offset starts out cleaning at correct height, but goes up 5mm or so when it starts to print

Post by sandcrab123 »

First let me confess that I am new to 3D printing! I'm finally at the stage where I can start to print on my smoothie board Cartesian printer. I have everything working and I am trying to print a test block. I am using Simplify3D to slice and prepare the g code. This is what is happening. When the printer starts to run a print, the print head does a cleaning cycle with the z axis at the correct level. It then moves to the center of the bed raises the print head approximately 5 or 6 MM and starts to print. Of course all this does is make a mess and I abort the print. I've tried to adjust the Z offset in Simplify 3D, but this doesn't seem to help. Any ideas to correct this problem would be appreciated. I can do a video if that would help.

Thanks Dan
Xenocrates
ULTIMATE 3D JEDI

Re: Z offset starts out cleaning at correct height, but goes up 5mm or so when it starts to print

Post by Xenocrates »

So, as a quick aside, this forum is mostly aimed at delta printers. Keep that in mind as we offer advice, because it may not be the best for a Cartesian printer.

That said, a video and your slicing settings would be very helpful in trying to figure this out.
Machines:
Rostock Max V2, Duet .8.5, PT100 enabled E3D V6 and volcano, Raymond style enclosure
Automation Technology 60W laser cutter/engraver
1m X-carve router

Sic Transit Gloria Mundi
01-10011-11111100001
IMBoring25
Printmaster!

Re: Z offset starts out cleaning at correct height, but goes up 5mm or so when it starts to print

Post by IMBoring25 »